Biographies Speakers

Ruth E. Nemire joined the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy as the associate executive vice president in January 2013. Nemire’s responsibilities include strategic planning, developing and assessing programs, design of products and services to assist members in leadership and curriculum development, educational research and scholarly teaching including interprofessional education, global partnerships and development. She is responsible for scanning and interpretation of the higher education, health professions education, and healthcare environments for trends, information and resources of potential interest and benefit for members. She works with leaders to facilitate their work in service to AACP members and builds relationships with external organizations that complement and support programs of the Association. Nemire is a graduate of Ohio Northern University and The University of Toledo Colleges of Pharmacy. She completed formal fellowship training in neurology with an emphasis in epilepsy at the University Of Miami College Of Medicine in Miami, Florida. Nemire completed a Doctorate in Education with a major in higher education leadership at the Nova Southeastern University Fischer School of Education in December 2009. Academic and research endeavors include leadership positions across the United States in both pharmacy and medical schools. Prior to joining AACP, she served as the executive founding dean for Fairleigh Dickinson University in Madison, New Jersey. She helped establish the Touro College of Pharmacy in New York in 2007 as the associate dean for professional education and community engagement, and professor of pharmacy and health outcomes. While there, the college received an Immunization Champions Award from the American Pharmacists Association for increasing immunization rates in the Harlem community. Nemire served in administrative and faculty positions for the Nova Southeastern University College of Pharmacy. She served as the director for clinical education, director for community engagement and associate professor during her tenure of 10 years.