Biographies Speakers

Dr. Vaiyapuri Subramaniam is Associate Chief Consultant & Pharmacy Executive at the US Department of Veterans Affairs (VA), Pharmacy Benefits Management Services, Washington DC, USA. He is subject matter expert in pharmaceutical compounding and hazardous drug management program standards with leadership and programmatic responsibilities for over 7000 VA pharmacists and pharmacy staff. He received his Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) degree from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, the MS degree from National-Louis University, BS in Pharmacy degree from Ohio Northern University and BA degree from Ohio Wesleyan University. He has widely contributed and published and is speaker to domestic and international groups on public health, pharmaceutical and hazardous drug compounding, medication adherence, healthcare disparities, cultural competency, traditional medicines and post-marketing adverse drug and quality monitoring. He is principal author of a book chapter on “Department of Veterans Affairs Pharmacy Programs” in the 2016 hardback publication of Pharmaceutical Public Policy. He was principal architect of the VA web-based adverse drug events (ADE) reporting system that met multi-user needs for an ADE reporting portal. He was previously pharmaceutical scientist and regulatory compliance officer in the US Food & Drug Administration (FDA) and practiced extensively in university and teaching hospitals as clinical teaching coordinator, director of pharmacy services and clinical affiliate professor. He completed the Executive Management Program for Pharmacy Leaders from the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania and, while at the FDA completed a one-year Leadership Fellowship from the Council for Excellence in Government Leadership Fellows Program. He was President of the Washington Metropolitan Society of Health System Pharmacists; Vice-President for Committees, Federal Asian Pacific American Council (FAPAC) and former President of the VA FAPAC Chapter. He is Treasurer of the Social and Administrative Pharmacy Section, International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP), and Fellow of ASHP, ASCP and American College of Clinical Pharmacology.