Biographies Speakers

Greg Eberhart is the Registrar of the Alberta College of Pharmacists. He contributed to the establishment of the National Association of Pharmacy Regulatory Authorities (NAPRA) in 1995. He has provided leadership nationally through the Canadian Pharmacists Association (CPhA), NAPRA, and the Council of Pharmacy Registrars of Canada. In 2008-09, he participated on CPhA’s “Blueprint Steering Committee” that developed a blueprint for the future of pharmacy in Canada. Greg led the development of provincial legislation (proclaimed in 2007), enabling pharmacists in Alberta to prescribe and administer drugs by injection. He was a member of the Alberta Pharmacists Association’s “Pharmacy Practice Models Initiative” advisory committee, a demonstration project in 2009-10, focused on innovative reimbursement methods for pharmacists practicing in new practice models. Greg was a member of the “Minister’s Advisory Committee on Health” in 2010, mandated to lead the development of new umbrella health legislation and is a member of the provincial Health Information Executive Committee. He was a member of the Primary Health Care Strategy Working Group and co-chair of the Cultural Change Expert Advisory Group. In 2008, Greg was presented with a University of Alberta Alumni Honour Award in “recognition of significant contributions made over a number of years to his local community and beyond”. In 2011, he was amongst 103 Albertans awarded the Alberta Pharmacy Centennial Award for Distinction for “having advanced pharmacy in Alberta to the leadership position it holds today”. And in 2014, Greg was honoured with an Outstanding Pharmacy Alumnus Award in recognition of pharmacy alumni who have made outstanding contributions to their professions, their communities, to society at large, or to the University of Alberta Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences.